again with the favorite android apps

by santoki

Edited April 14, 2009: I added another one…

It’s been a long while since my last list of favorite apps, so I guess it’s time to make a new one.

Let me start off by saying that I am not what you would call an early adopter.  I am not one to look for all the bleeding edge apps, and I could care less if I get the first post on the reviews.   With that said, here is a list of the apps that I am using constantly.  By the way, they are all still free.

In no particular order:

1.  Toggle Settings – developed by cooolmagic, this is a pretty handy app that lets me toggle any setting you might imagine.  I love that it has easy access in the notifications bar, and profile settings.  If it could allow for adjusting the 2g/3g setting based on profile, I would love it.

2.  Toggle WiFi – developed by Andrew Schwimmer, it toggles the WiFi.  That’s it.  You can set up a notification that let’s you know if the wifi is on even if there are no available networks, and that is really swell.  I use it and the toggle settings together.

3.  Astrid Task/Todo List – developed by we ❤ astrid, this is a pretty nice to do list.  You can set up some pretty aggressive reminders, and it really does get you checking things off.  Nice application, though the interface is a bit on the clunky side.  If you want a much more paired down version, go for the Tag ToDo List by Teo.

4.  SnapPhoto – developed by Bratag, this is a really nice tweak for the camera.  What is really great is its pseudo-image stabilization.  I am not exactly sure how it works, but it helps a lot.  Because the small lens does not allow much light, this feature is a lifesaver.  I will say, when I don’t pay attention and leave it on accidentally, it has a tendency to eat up the battery.

5.  Twidroid– developed by Zimmermann & Marban, this is a twitter app.  Yes, I know that I mentioned it in the previous list, but it’s my list, and I will do what I want.  There has been a lot of updates since in the past four months, each one better than the last.  It is very stable, simple to navigate, and allows for ample personalization in regards to settings.   Very nice and still free.

6.  Kevin – developed by Chris Capaci, it’s like the game Simon but called Kevin.  That’s it.

7.  Simon Tatham’s Puzzles – developed by Chris Boyle, it’s a bunch of very geeky mind games.  The interface is awful, and the games are range from cake to oh-my-god.  All the same, I am rather fond of this thing.

8.  Sky Map – developed by Sky Map Team, it’s a map of the stars.  It takes a while to get the hang of it, but once you do all I can say is wow.  A little hint, if you use the moon to orient yourself, you won’t mistake Venus for Uranus.

9.  Facbook Sync – developed by Mike Hearn, this application syncs the facebook profile pictures of your friends with your contacts.  All you need to do is log into facebook, and it does the rest.  Though it isn’t perfect, it works pretty well.   It is a one shot deal, so it will not be updating the pictures as your friends do, but who cares.  You can always run it again if that is a concern.

I think that’s it for now.  These are the ones that I use on a pretty regular basis.  Admittedly, I am interested in trying out the cupcake emulators, if only for the tweeks on the home screen.  I have tried the free version and while it isn’t too bad, I think that I am going to just wait for the rollout.

