my favorite g1 apps

by santoki

When I first got my G1, I thought “goody for all the apps!”  Of course, not wanting to load my new toy with junk, I looked long and hard at all of the app reviews.  From what I can tell, every major review was posted shortly before the release of the G1.  Why do I say this?  Well, it seems that most of the must-have apps are also must-have-been-nice apps.  

Seems that Google did a little house cleaning before setting up the Android market.

Inasmuch as I would have liked to have a retinal scan available, I am making due with what is there.  Let me tell you, there isn’t a whole lot.  Don’t get me wrong, there are things being added every day (and believe me when I say that I am looking).  I guess I was hoping that what was there would be more… I don’t know. Useful?

So without further ado, in no particular order, here is my list of apps that I mostly love:

  1. Anycut:  Like many other reviews, this seems to be a universal.  Anycut allows you, for the most part, to make a shortcut out of anything.  This means that rather than rooting through your settings to turn off the WiFi, you can just make a shortcut on you home page.  That function alone makes this app worth it.  (By the way, if you want to make a shortcut to a website, just do a long-press on the home page, go down to shortcuts, and select a particular bookmark.)
  2. SpellDial:  The hardest thing to get over when moving from a regular mobile to a smart phone is the keypad.  As the G1 tucks its buttons out of reach, it is a little exasperating.  SpellDial to the rescue.  Sort of.  When calling up the app, a keypad pops up on the screen.  Then, just start spelling out the names t9 style, and voila.  Frankly, I am not sure why this functionality wasn’t included in the core system.  Regardless, it is remedied here.  Now if they incorporated this into the dialer rather than as a separate app, that would make my day.
  3. Twidroid:  For those who twitter, this tool is invaluable.  Most of the bugs have been worked out, and is a pretty stable app.  Though, it does have a tendency to flake out when it can’t find a data connection, I have only really had that issue once.  Then again, I was attempting to twitter from Obamapalooza.  Can you imagine?  Like I was ever going to get data in or out of that bottleneck!
  4. The Weather Channel:  A really pretty application that tells you all sorts of weather details.  Though, I still can’t figure out why it wants access to as much of your information as it does.  Regardless, great app.
  5. Coloroid:  An oddly relaxing, addictive game where you just start matching colors.  It seems stupid at first, but you really don’t want to stop once you get the hang of it.
  6. Quickpedia:  A well designed wikipedia browser.  For those who want their wikiality now.
  7. Ringdroid:  A pretty decent app that lets you turn your sound files into ring tones.  Works well, and is pretty self explanatory.  Would be better if it would let you loop, fade, and replay from specific points rather than from all the way at the beginning, but not a bad start for this app.
  8. WikiNotes:  I have to admit, I didn’t quite get it at first.  Then I started using it.  To digress a little, in my line of work, I have to remember a lot of names pretty quickly.  Let’s say you are giving a meeting, and there are 10 people there.  While you are there, you remember everyone.  What happens a week later.  Well, if you are headlining, everyone will have no problem remembering you.  Will you remember everyone else?  Or what about the name of the one person who was so completely engaged in the meeting?  Names are tough.  I found myself writing notes about the event, such as participants,and then turned those participants into wikiwords (LiKe ThIs).  From there, I wrote little notes so that I could remember those people the next day.  So WikiNotes.  Very handy.
  9. Zombie, Run!:  A bizarre use of the GPS feature, but unbelievably fun!  All you are doing is trying to get from here to there without a zombie attack.  Best part, you are running so quickly, you don’t even mind that people are looking at you like you are insane.  

That’s all for now.  I can’t really think of any more that I love.  I know that there is a lot of love out there for things like ShopSavvy and CompareEverywhere, but frankly it seems a little understocked.  And since I don’t really use my phone as a music player (afraid it will kill the already mediocre battery life), I can’t really answer for the imeem or tuneswiki.

Next up, my wishlist.

