psa: Breakfast at O’Hare

by santoki

-BEGIN PSA-

Unlike past returns to my new digs, this weekend mainly consisted of what Triple G refers to as “Life Admin” work. You know, things like insurance details, arranging roof repairs, air conditioning maintenance, emergency triage, blah, blah, blah. There are times in life when you know you are truly a grown up. Yech. Other than spending the day with the Blond Bombshell, there was very little that was lovely about my Saturday.

After such a grueling day, I reserved Sunday for a small bit of fun, in between bouts of frantic packing. Sunday was one of those “plan by meals” days. You know the one. Who and where for breakfast? Who and where for lunch? Who will drive me to Midway that evening? So anyway, there is one meal in particular that I would like to bring to your attention.

You see, the Neat Stripe found himself on a 2 hour layover at Chicago’s O’Hare airport. What kind of friend would I have been if I had left one of my dear friends to eat his first meal of the day with plastic utensils out of cardboard boxes. While that is fine for me, it is hardly suitable for a southern gentleman that is the Neat Stripe. It begs the question: how on earth could I possibly not arrange something?

As O’Hare has yet to install restaurants outside of the security area, it was up to me and D’artagnan to free the Neat Stripe from his confines of Terminal 1. I roll to the airport at oh-god-o’clock, grab the Neat Stripe, and hightailed it to the diner.

For those who don’t know, there is little in the way of eating around O’Hare, save for highways, hotels, and fast food establishments. Finding a yummy breakfast place that is open at 0700 seemed nigh on impossible. Using google and google maps, I unearthed a place called Oakton Restaurant and Pancake House. Unfortunately, we blew past it by a mile and a half.

Of course, road trip rules. When you feel that little twinge within you that says you went too far, you have two options:

  1. Turn around and try to find your destination.
  2. Make a new destination.

Being hungry adventurers with a time limit, we opted for the latter. And that, my dear friends, is what brought us to Andy’s Cafe. It is a typical greasy spoon, with all of the expected fixings. They make a really good buttermilk pancake, perfectly poached eggs, and a decent biscuits and gravy. Not to mention that the coffee is astonishingly tasty.

We were in and out of there at a leisurely pace, with more than enough time to get the Neat Stripe back through Checkpoint Charlie.

-END PSA-

Andy’s Cafe and CateringA tasty greasy spoon within easy reach of O’Hare by car. Cheap and yummy and great coffee. The waitress was a crack-up who didn’t want to let me leave until I finished “just one more bite” of my breakfast. It is a great place to go if you have a layover and a ride.

