for whom does she speak?

by santoki

I cannot claim to be a fan of Ann Coulter. A few years ago, I checked out one of her books from the library to see what the hullabaloo was about. Okay, so the lady has her opinions. So do I. I find her work to be grating, hateful, and inaccurate. Can someone explain to me how she ends up on the bestsellers list time and again? Seriously.

Fast forward to yesterday.

To recap, at the Conservative Political Action Conference, Ms. Coulter said:

I was going to have a few comments on the other Democratic presidential candidate John Edwards, but it turns out you have to go into rehab if you use the word ‘faggot,’ so… kind of an impasse, can’t really talk about Edwards.

Huh.

For the greater part, I am all for political discourse. Heck, I think it’s a hoot and a half when my friends and I get into a knock-down drag out fight over the state of our union. That’s what makes this country so great. If you don’t like something, it is your inalienable right to exasperate others with your opinion. To do otherwise, well that’s just unAmerican. The problem I have is when debate dissolves into bigoted name calling. That just ruins the fun for everyone.

Call me an optimist, but I wholeheartedly believe that Ms. Coulter is not the conservative mouthpiece that she is hyped to be. I am certain that there are legions of conservatives that cringe when she opens her mouth and spews battery acid. Until proven wrong, I am going to believe that when Ann speaks, she speaks only for herself.

