uppuma? should be called umm…yum… uh…

by santoki

My cooking is either hit or miss. When something is good, it is super good, but when it is bad? It is just this side of inedible. Case in point, I just threw out a devil’s food cake because it tasted like a cross between devil dogs, and paste. Not good at all.

Which brings me to my point, sort of. I went to this tasty restaurant for breakfast many moons ago, and had a breakfast porridge called uppama (or at least I think that is how it is spelled). It is yummy, and spicy, and completely addictive. After a bit of trial and error, I have worked up a recipe, that tastes a lot like what I remember. If you have tried this before, please try this and let me know if this is even close. If you have a real recipe, hit me with it. If you haven’t, well… you are welcome to try it, but let me remind you that it is porridge.

farina.jpg

1/3 cup Farina
1 TBLsp Ghee
3 TBLsp dried lentils *
2 TBLSP Cumin seeds
1 TBLSP Mustard seeds
1 TBLsp Garam Masala
2 chile pepper
3 scallions
3/4 cup peas
2 cups H20

First, toast the Farina in a dry sauce pan until it smells toasty (2 minutes or so). Then set it aside. In the same pan, melt the ghee. When it is hot, add the dried lentils.  Roast for a minute or two, then toss in all of the seeds. After it starts popping, throw in all of the veggies and the Garam Masala. When the onions wilt, toss in the farina and then dump in the water. Keep stirring so there are no lumps. Cook for 8 minutes, stirring now and again. Turn off the heat and let it sit for another 8 minutes.

Dish it up and eat with maybe yogurt, ginger chutney, or perhaps a poached egg stirred in.

Again, I am not sure if this recipe is right. Let me know if you have any suggestions.

[*  EDIT: Lately, I’ve been tossing dried lentils into the ghee before adding the seed/spices. It adds some crunch, a bit of nuttiness and a bit of authenticity, some say.]

The brunch place I tried this bit of tasty:

Victory’s BannerA really great vegetarian place that is run by some students of Sri Chinmoy. I don’t know who that is, nor what they believe, but I’ll be darned if they don’t make some of the yummiest french toast in Chicago!

