love from close up

by santoki


I love it when my family comes to town, and it isn’t because they take me out to fantastic dinners, buy food for my anorexic refrigerator, and keep my closet filled with new coats. Well that might be part of it.

It is mostly because they have seen me at my best and worst, and are still there. I bring my parents pride, and they give me love. I give them grief, and they give me patience. I give them anxiety, and they give me support. I give them disappointment, and they give me hope. And then there is my sister.

Had we not been related, there is a good chance we would never have been friends. We are the opposite in every way. Sometimes, we disagree just because. My parents call us the sun and the moon. But then again, there are those many times where the two happily share the same sky, bringing delight to those who might witness the spectacle. As different as we might be, she is my favorite person in the world.

They were all in town this week. It was only for a few days, but it has been fantastic. They are ridiculous, fun, lazy, hungry, silly, and never bored. We spend quantity time in each others company, and are more than satisfied. They root through my cupboards like they own the place, and I couldn’t be happier. The only thing they seem to be apprehensive about is driving my car.

But then again, I really love my car.

